Oak By Design - Reviews and Testimonials
oak by design
oakbydesign
Call 01423 593 794
oak by design

Facebook Reviews

"Don't just take our word for it..."
oak bicycle
facebook
R Brown Carpentry & Property Services
recommends
2 January 2024

I first used Oak by Design in 2021 for a oak porch, I used them again 2023 for an oak pergola. Both times my clients have been Delighted with the finished product. Both times the product was delivered when stated, everything i needed was on the delivery. Oak by design listened to what I required for both jobs. The quality of the oak is excellent, all joints fit correctly & if I had a problem I only had to ring and speak to them. R Brown Carpentry always recommends Oak by Design when asked about oak structures.

facebook
Joyce Stallebrass
recommends
30 November 2023

From the start of our enquiry, the service provided was excellent. Joanne was a great help and the oak porch structure looks fantastic on our new build. It completely changed the look of the house. Very quick delivery. Very highly recommended.

facebook
Natalie FN
recommends
22 June 2023

We are extremely happy with the porch from this company! Joanne was amazing and spent so much time explaining everything and making sure things were right. Would certainly recommend!

facebook
Phil Elbourne
recommends
11 May 2023

Fantastic service and quality of product. I couldn’t be happier with my Oak porch, which was designed to my specification with the minimum of fuss. Joanne was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Incredibly well engineered and looks fantastic. Thank you so much.

facebook
Debbie Dawson
recommends
1 November 2022

I wanted to thank Amanda and the team at Oak by Design for the outstanding service and particularly the beautiful porch that has been created. Throughout this process you have been professional, attended to detail and the product is testament to this. By recommending Jack as the builder we were able to have a great all round product from start to finish.

facebook
Hah Sedgefield
recommends
20 October 2022

Great professional service from design to delivery. Would highly recommend them

facebook
Eloise Horsley
recommends
7 June 2022

5 stars for this company. Both Jo (whom I liased extensively with) and the team gave us faultless service. It was a complicated design interlocking the porch roof with the main build. Even when we (by that I mean me) worried about how it would all come together. This included several drawings and measurements till we got everything exactly right, right down to the inscription on the beam which for us made the porch even more special. You really won’t be disappointed my many questions were always answered in a timely and friendly manner. I couldn’t recommend them enough and I think the evidence is there in the picture my vision and their skill along with our other contractors did an amazing job of bringing my dream to life. Many thanks once again.

facebook
Fiona Bowling
recommends
24 February 2022

I have used oak by design twice now, the first time for a bespoke oak beam and fire surround and more recently for an RSJ cover. Joanne is great at attention to detail and advised me on the shaping of the cover, colouring and fitting. The after service was great. We had a hiccup fitting the cover ourselves. Darren who made the cover rang me straight back and explained how to fix the problem. I wouldn't hesitate to buy anything from this company the workmanship and customer service is first class..Thankyou 😊

facebook
Justin Dunn
recommends
10 December 2021

At the beginning of this year we worked on our second project with Oak by Design; a garden room made out of oak and glass. The whole team were brilliant. Joanne is superb liaising between us and the technical team. The product was amazing and we are just so pleased with the result. As I said, this is our second project that’s been successfully completed and we would never look any further for a wonderful company to partner with. When it’s your home, it’s very personal and the effort the team took to understand what the perfect look would be was outstanding and our vision became a reality for which we are hugely appreciative of.

facebook
Roger Cole
recommends
7 December 2021

I’ve used Oak By Design for years, while slowly replacing internal doors and various bits and pieces in and around the house. Their goods are great and their service is even better. An engaging lovely team of people, happy to be doing what they do, focused on delivering a quality product that satisfies their customers. With a big shout out for Joanne who has helped me sort some out some pretty vague and odd requests over the years.

facebook
Nathalie Gudgeon
recommends
11 October 2021

So happy with our canopy from Oak by Design, beautiful wood and really good communication

facebook
Emily Coticelli
recommends
28 September 2021

This is the second time we have used oak by design. We first used them for an oak staircase, and more recently for oak Rsj covers. We received really good advice and pictures to help us choose the finish and the order was delivered on time. The customer service and follow up was also very good. The covers were simple to install but very heavy so needed plenty of manpower. You can’t see the joints - very well crafted and lovely quality oak.

facebook
Simon Spence
recommends
12 October 2020

This is the second time that we have used Oak By Design for oak products and once again we weren’t disappointed. We recently ordered some internal oak doors and from the very start they were a pleasure to deal with. Joanne especially was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We were kept updated about the progress of our order. Unfortunately we needed to delay acceptance of the doors for a few weeks and Oak By Design happily agreed to store them in their workshop until we were ready for them. The quality of the doors is very high, they are very well made and finished, far better than any oak doors that you will buy “ off the shelf. “ They are all installed now and look fantastic. I would highly recommend Oak By Design and we will certainly use them again in the future if we require any more oak products. A huge thank you to Joanne and the whole team for a great service and a great product.

facebook
Pamela Douthwaite
recommends
28 September 2020

Excellent planning advice,kept very well informed about the progress of our Porch and finally the installation by a very good builder that they had recommended.

facebook
Keran Pincombe
recommends
17 September 2020

A truly fantastic company!!! The whole process of getting an oak porch by OakByDesign has been outstanding from the start. Joanne has been very helpful from the initial design process, installation and courtesy calls after the porch was completed. After a few amendments on our own design they came to do the final measurements and then a few weeks later they came to install. We are so pleased with the result, the quality and the finish of the product. It is truly beautiful and everyone including tradespeople coming to work at the house, have commented on the quality. Thank you!

facebook
Gill Wren
recommends
10 January 2020

We would 100% recommend Oak by Design, having used them to create an oak framed enclosed porch for us. Joanne and the team have been fabulous to deal with and they have produced a beautiful quality product which we are so pleased with! Many thanks to Joanne and the team for making our vision a reality!

facebook
Jacqueline Corcoran-Burton
recommends
26 May 2019

Oak by Design have been an incredible company to work with. They listened to our ideas and produced some outstanding work. I had 4 RSJ covers made and 2 fireplace mantles. Joanne at the company talked us through the whole process. She was brilliant, friendly and really knew her stuff. The oak looks like solid beams and we couldn't be happier. We would highly recommend this company, they have been amazing. Thanks guys x

facebook
Katharine Trofimowicz
recommends
17 October 2018

Fantastic quality and service at a fair price. Oak by Design made a beautiful oak porch for our new build which gives it the 'wow factor' we were hoping for. It is the first thing every visit comments about..... we couldn't be happier with it.

facebook
Alistair Johnson
recommends
1 January 2017

A great company with a first class team that really does make a difference to the end finish!

facebook
Debs Mossman
recommends
14 December 2016

We deal with Joanne on a regular basis, she is amazing and their team is too. Fantastic products, nothing is a trouble for them. Many times this year they have helped us out at last minute. We can't thankyou enough. We look forward to continuing our great rapport with you in 2017. Have a fab xmas and new year. all of you, Joanne you are brilliant! Debs & Mick of Bankhouse Stoves in Northumberland.

facebook
Craig Nelson
recommends
24 November 2016

Highly recommend company, professional service from start to finish and the beam I purchased was beautiful and made exactly to my spec.

facebook
Tudor Townsend
recommends
7 August 2016

We needed an oak beam cover to hide a complicated RSJ structure. The staff at Oak by Design were very knowledgeable and helpful to ensure the cover was manufactured to match the existing beams. I was even able to visit the works to get the style and colouring just right. We are delighted with the end result which has received many compliments. Additionally we purchased oak board flooring which looks just great. We plan to buy more for the next stage of the project.

facebook
Suzette Love
recommends
23 May 2016

Extremely pleased with our recent order for an oak beam to be used in our kitchen. Well made exactly to our specifications, of good quality and at a competitive price. Great customer service throughout with consultation at each stage of manufacture. Speedy service and very well packaged for delivery. Would not hesitate to use Oak by Design in the future.

facebook
Graham Penny
recommends
5 May 2016

How rare it is today to find a company, who not only understands the true meaning of customer service but has the ability to prove it. There help in choosing the design to meet my needs coupled with the consideration shown in the construction, installation and finish was fantastic. I highly recommend this company. Graham Penny

facebook
Andrew Ming
recommends
5 May 2016

From when we visited their Harrogate showroom to the fitting and completion of our oak orangery the staff could not have been more professional. They came up with some great ideas and we are extremely pleased with the finished product. Great quality.

facebook
Hayley Louise
recommends
13 February 2015

Fabulous beams, top quality and great customer service!

Copyright 

© 1997 – 2024 All Rights Reserved
crossmenuchevron-downquestion-circle

Oak By Design

Luxury Oak Building Manufacturers

I will be back soon

Hi. How can I help you?
Whatsapp
Sam Dowgill
Sam Dowgill

Left us a 5 star review

First class service and product . Our car port and steps look fantastic and blends in with the existing buildings beautifully. Would definitely recommend them.

From the beginning the customer service has been superb, excellent help and advice when choosing the flooring, delivery arriving when promised and a product which is extremely high quality. We have replaced the majority of our flooring downstairs and we are so pleased with the result that we would have paid more. Fantastic.

We purchased some engineered oak flooring and oak covers from Oak By Design and couldn't be happier with the finish and quality. They are spot on. Joanne was extremely helpful throughout the whole process and provided plenty of advice when necessary. Thank you

Fantastic service and quality of product. I couldn’t be happier with my Oak porch, which was designed to my specification with the minimum of fuss. Joanne was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Incredibly well engineered and looks fantastic. Thank you so much.

A great company to deal with. Professional from start to finish and always there to assist with any queries. Highly recommended.

I first used Oak by Design in 2021 for a oak porch, I used them again 2023 for an oak pergola. Both times my clients have been Delighted with the finished product. Both times the product was delivered when stated, everything i needed was on the delivery. Oak by design listened to what I required for both jobs. The quality of the oak is excellent, all joints fit correctly & if I had a problem I only had to ring and speak to them. R Brown Carpentry always recommends Oak by Design when asked about oak structures.

Pleasure to do Buisness with

Oak by design provided our engineered oak flooring. From our initial meeting and supply of samples to the final delivery we have been provided with excellent service. Carl has been in touch throughout the process and provided updates about the lead time and expected delivery dates. We are delighted with the flooring. Very happy to recommend Oak by design.

Very professional. Excellent product and service. Highly recommended.

I could not recommend Oak By Design more highly. Joanne and the team worked tirelessly to resolve an issue that was the result of my mistake when I ordered the porch. Great customer service.

What can I say, Oak By Design have been the most fantastic company to deal with. Joanne was so helpful, friendly and professional. She really seemed to care about our project, which made such a difference. We had 4 oak RSJ covers made and 2 fireplace mantles. The finish is outstanding. Everyone believes they are solid beams, which was just what we wanted. The care and attention this company will give you is 2nd to none and I would highly recommend them. Pictures will follow when we complete our project, thanks again Oak By Design. x

We are delighted with our porch, from Oak by Design. Not only is the porch of excellent quality and finish but their customer service could not have been better. They bent over backwards to make sure that we were happy with the porch and I would happily recommend them to anyone.

We were looking to have a bespoke oak and glass atrium for the front of our new house renovation. We wanted to find a company we trusted, who clearly understood our brief and could manufacture and install a high quality product at a competitive price. A big ask, but OakByDesign ticked all our boxes. Jamie and the team from the initial discovery meeting to completion of the installation were fantastic. The design, material quality and installation were first class and I would highly recommend you to include them within your project plans. Thank you all. Ben and Lindsay.

Excellent customer service. Very friendly. Explained in detail. Product is beautiful. Would recommend. Company sent photos of finished product prior to dispatch to confirm our happiness with their work.

We are ‘over the moon’ with our beautiful oak porch made by Oakbydesign .From our initial enquiry to delivery and installation the service and attention to detail has been outstanding! A very big thank you to Joanne who was so helpful and friendly from start to finish which made the whole process such a pleasure. Highly recommend anyone looking for an oak porch to choose Oakbydesign . Yvonne Grant.

Really delighted with the new porch by Oak by Design. It adds a super feature to my converted barn. Thanks to Joanne and the team.

Great service from start to finish, Joanne was great help. Designs were spot on and so happy with the porch. 10/10. Fully recommend.

Excellent quality workmanship and materials. Very easy and friendly to deal with on the phone. Everything done on time and no problems at all. Will definitely use again next time I need an oak porch or any other oak structures.

Fantastic service from start to finish, I would have no hesitation in recommending this company or using them again. Very professional and helpful. Joanne was great in assisting us with choosing both styles and colours of the beams and cladding.

Great company, always on the end of the phone to talk through design, measurements, fitting. The Oak is very high standard, looks amazing.

Having lived with our porch for over 2 years I can honestly say it’s the best addition to our house we ever made. Not only does it look fantastic the quality is outstanding. I love that it keeps the mud out of the hall and provides a seating area to remove muddy boots.

Working with Oak By Design on our project was a pleasure and we were delighted with the results. Joanne was extremely helpful, quick to answer any questions and generally a great person to deal with! The quality and finish of the products - RSJ covers and Oak Windows & Doors were superb and look great. Would highly recommend working with Oak By Design and would not hesitate to use their services again for future projects!

Exceptional service and beautiful flooring. Absolutely delighted with every aspect. Went above and beyond great customer service to meet our needs and timescales.

Found Oak by Design searching for a new front porch to replace a canopy and knew immediately that this was company for the job and I was not disappointed. I already knew what I wanted and Richard, very patiently, developed my basic requirements, with a number of iterations, into a full detailed design. As I live outside their site working area I decided go for supply only and to install the porch myself. It was delivered as promised and it looked great even on the pallet! It took me a while to fit but it was very satisfying and the result is fantastic. The quality of the aged oak and carpentry of the timbers is excellent. I’m delighted with the porch supplied by Oak by Design - it looks superb.

Ordered an oak mantle beam from Oak by Design and they quickly called to check the finer details. Unfortunatly, the beam was slightly damaged on arrival by the courier company. Oak by Design immediately arranged to have it picked by DHL, transferred back to Yorkshire from Kent, repaired and sent back within 2 days, with no quibbles. The beam is beautiful, as is the high quality customer service by these people. Fully recommend using this company. Anthony Slater, Tonbridge. Tonbridge.

From the start of our enquiry, the service provided was excellent. Joanne was a great help and the oak porch structure looks fantastic on our new build. It completely changed the look of the house. Very quick delivery could not recommend enough.

We can thoroughly recommend Oak by Design. Not only did they provide the best of oak floors and oak staircase to suit our new, contemporary home, but they returned to make good a problem which was not their fault. Going the extra mile separates great companies from ordinary firms. Thank you Jamie & Billy. From Mike & Barbara, York.

Amazing customer service from beginning to end . My builder was in awe at the quality of the oak porch components. Call them and ask for Joanne - what she doesn’t know isn’t worth knowing! It’s not every day you invest in a “proper” porch so do it right. You’ll definitely be delighted!

I was sourcing an oak RSJ cover (circa 5m length) for my extension and found Oak by Design on the internet. All of the reviews I could were glowing and so I contacted them......And I'm so glad that I did. Joanne Fisher answered my initial call and she looked after my order from beginning to end - in terms of ensuring that I got exactly what I wanted she/they provided a superb service - everything on time - delivery in to the Peak District to suit when I wanted. The quality of the the RSJ cover is fantastic thick solid oak that matches my oak floor - looks amazing. If you want anything oak I can thoroughly recommend Oak By Design.

Posting on behalf of my Mother in Law, Shirley Abbott "Having planned to shop around, Oak By Design was my first stop. I had no need to look any further. Joanne patiently and professionally guiding me through the confusion of choosing the right flooring. The service and support from the staff was exceptional, efficient and helpful. And - my floor looks amazing!"

On behalf of Shears PHG Our customer was looking at having an oak porch built for their property in the West Midlands we got in contact with Joanne at Oak by Design and she was really helpful, always friendly on the phone and polite nothing was too much trouble. Joanne kept us up to date through every stage and our customer is really pleased with the results of the Porch it looks great and we wouldn’t hesitate to use them again in the future

From the initial quotation right through to the delivery and after service Joanne has been brilliant and given me an excellent product. I have just ordered another porch for another project from them and I will continue to do so for future projects . Thomas and Bell Building Contractors Ltd

Oak by Design have made 2 oak framed rooms for us, sunroom at the front and and "moonroom" (photo) at the back which encompasses a shower room, work area and storage. They have been helpful at every stage and the outcome is simply brilliant. They make the whole house feel roomier and brighter and are beautiful places to be. GE North Yorkshire

Four years ago we took the decision to completely gut an old farmhouse and start again with it, we started looking for a supplier of oak to refit all of the internal doors, door casings, skirting and flooring. Our carpenter recommended Oak By Design. He wasn't wrong! All of the oak has been completely top notch. As the old house has settled into it's new skin it has moved and cracked in various places, the only thing that has been stable and unwavering is the oak. The customer service has been superb, with them continuing to supply exactly the same items, with the same quality over the course of 4 years. They even indulged our designs for furniture for our "boot room", with Shoe pigeon holes and a bench which we could store wellies under (as pictured). The doors supplied by them are reassuringly heavy and sturdy, with a proper "thunk" as you close them, cutting off sound from the rest of the house. There may be other, cheaper suppliers of oak out there, but none with the same level of quality, longevity and customer service as Oak By Design. If you want to do it right (& once!) use these guys.

Amazing craftsmanship from this company. The customer service from Joanne was superb. My questions and indecisiveness were never an issue and she was always on hand to offer advice and find the answers to my questions. Our oak porch has transformed the house and we are over thd moon with it. Would highly recommend Oak By Design. Joanne is an asset to the sales and promotion of this company and is very knowledgeable. Would give 10 stars if I could!

My client was looking for ways in which to make his conversion (of an early seventies house into a period family farmhouse) “stand out from the crowd”. whilst maintaining a commercial eye on his expenditure, as the house was being converted for resale profit. Making the choice to meet with Richard and explore possibilities for incorporating some Real solid Oak features into his plans proved to be the making of the project. By taking lots of advice from Richard on both the size and structure of the components we were able to incorporate three key features. The beautiful and bold roof trusses and purlins for the open plan kitchen are simply a joy to behold. The stunning full height gable window which is directly glazed into the large framework can be appreciated from both the the kerbside and of course from within the cosy snug on the ground floor or the amazing first floor main bedroom where we incorporated some additional exposed roof beams just purely for effect. All in all it is fair to say that these significant choices certainly created the wow factor my client was looking for. Having managed to pre sell the property well before completion it in itself demonstrates the benefits of keeping these sorts of real oak features as part of a modern build. I have no hesitation whatsoever is saying that if anyone is looking to get advice and is serious about investing in quality oak products they should have no need to look further than Oak by Design. Thanks again Richard for all your help , guidance and continued support which is a credit to you and the craftsmen you employ.

I firstly used oak by design a couple of years ago for an open oak porch. They were extremely helpful and everything was delivered on time to the highest quality. The porch went together with the oak dowels provided and looked great when it was all slated in. They have also supplied me with a oak beam for a fireplace natural random finish and it looks good.

From start to finish Oak By Design have been incredible, nothing was too much trouble. Our new Oak doors are beautifully made and have really been the icing on the cake to finish our house renovations off. We have also had a fabulous outdoor oak structure with heating and we are very much looking forward to making the most of it in the months ahead. Thank you to the whole team I would throughly recommend.

Firstly, the product quality was superb, a beautiful oak mantle piece for my fire place, gorgeous. The installation was quick, efficient and fitter very friendly. The price was very reasonable, actually very good value. But what makes it all SIX STAR, ( but we I can only give 5!), was the customer service. When walking in the shop I was perfectly attended to, I was given samples to take home and they remembered to call soma days later to see what I thought. Order to install time was very fast for such a bespoke service. My experience was world class, great to deal with a brilliant local/small business, I totally recommend.

Perfect from start to finish. The service is above and beyond. Pleasure to install

As the owner of a local joinery business, Robert Davis Joinery, I have had the pleasure of using Oak by Design on several occasions over the last 8 years. They have produced bespoke interior products for me including Oak doors and timber moldings. The staff in the office and the workshop are always very helpful and friendly and the standard of the workmanship and materials are always of a very high quality.

Great personal service to ensure we got what we needed specific to our personal requirements. Quality is outstanding and there was a helping hand there all the way. The porch we ended up with was not cheap but having looked at others the quality of the Oak by design product shines through. Very pleased with the result and the complements from both neighbours and our builders keep coming.

We decided to get an oak porch to make our home more attractive and we are so glad we did as it really is beautiful ! Joanne and the Team have been professional, friendly and just a pleasure to deal with ! Thank you so much !!

A fabulous service and supportive through the design and delivery process. Highly recommended

Very impressed with Oak By Design. Customer service is fantastic and they were very patient in helping me ensure what I needed was the right size. Photos sent of oak cover before it was sent to me and end product was great. It was also not the most expensive either. Would definitely recommend.

On behalf of John Docherty: Oak By Design were a great company to deal with; helpful, knowledgeable, professional. The quality of the oak supplied to us for our bespoke porch was first class. Nothing was too much trouble for this company, and we will definitely be using this wonderful company again in 2022.

A first rate service from start to finish. We've used this company in the past for our floor - 40 foot of solid oak! 2 beams and 2 RSJ covers. This time a beam for our new kitchen inglenook and another RSJ cover. More than impressed with the products which more than met our spec. A very friendly and helpful team who I'd recommend to anyone.

Oak by design were a fantastic company to deal with. They made us some treads for a bespoke stair case from large pieces of air dried oak. They were very thorough in making sure that they understood exactly what we wanted. They made excellent suggestions for small changes to our own design in order to produce a better finished product and to manage the cost. We were very happy with the treads when they were delivered. They look fantastic and fitted perfectly to the steel frame which was made by a third party. I could not recommend them more highly.